Francis Kéré wins the 2022 Pritzker Architecture Prize.

March 18, 2022

The Pritzker Architecture Prize is an American award to honor a living architect or architects whose work exemplifies talent, vision, and commitment that produced consistent & significant contributions to humanity through the art of architecture. The award ceremony is held at a ceremony held at an architecturally significant site throughout the world, usually in May. The chosen laureate receives a $100,000 grant and a bronze medallion.

Francis Kéré is the 1st African winner and the 51st laureate of the highest architecture award. Francis built low-cost and technically innovative permanent structures in Burkina Faso. He also established the Kéré Foundation, a nonprofit dedicated to building vital public infrastructure in his hometown Gando.

Francis Kéré was born in Gando, Burkina Faso, and is based in Berlin, Germany. He empowers and transforms communities through architecture. He works in marginalized countries hampered with restrictions and hardships where there is a lack of architecture and infrastructure. Francis is dedicated to social justice, engagement, and intelligent use of local materials. He used this to respond to the natural climate and built modern school institutions, health facilities, professional housing, civic buildings, and public spaces. Usually, these buildings are constructed in areas where resources are frail, and society is essential.

You May Also Like…

Dinaw Mengestu

Dinaw Mengestu

All Our Names (Knopf, 2014), How To Read the Air (Riverhead, 2010), and The Beautiful Things That Heaven Bears (Riverhead, 2010) are Dinaw Mengestu's three books, all of which were named New York Times Notable Books (Riverhead, 2007). Mengestu is an Ethiopian native...